Breakthrough Prize 2019

Ten days ago the winners of the Breakthrough Prize 2019 were announced (press release, AMS Blog).

In mathematics the award goes to Vincent Lafforgue for “ground-breaking contributions to several areas of mathematics, in particular to the Langlands program in the function field case”.

Further, the New Horizons Prize in mathematics goes to

  • Chenyang Xu for “major advances in the minimal model program and applications to the moduli of algebraic varieties”.
  • Karim Adiprasito and June Huh for “the development, with Eric Katz, of combinatorial Hodge theory leading to the resolution of the log-concavity conjecture of Rota”.
  • Kaisa Matomäki and Maksym Radziwill for “fundamental breakthroughs in the understanding of local correlations of values of multiplicative functions”.

The Breakthrough Prizes come with an award of 3.000.000 USD and the New Horizons Prizes with 100.000 USD. The awarding ceremony will be held on Sunday, November 4th.