Ars legendi-Fakultätenpreis Mathematik 2024

Der diesjährige Ars legendi-Fakultätenpreis für exzellente Hochschullehre in der Mathematik geht an Prof. Anselm Knebusch. Prof. Anselm Knebusch von der Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart setzt das innovative Konzept des “computerbasierten Lernens im Hörsaal” ein, um der Heterogenität der Studienanfänger in der Mathematikausbildung der Ingenieursstudiengänge zu begegnen. Zur Aktivierung der Studierenden wird der neue Ansatz des … Continue reading "Ars legendi-Fakultätenpreis Mathematik 2024"

Abel Prize 2024

The Abel Prize 2024 goes to Michel Talagrand for his groundbreaking contributions to probability theory and functional analysis, with outstanding applications in mathematical physics and statistics.

Crafoord Prize 2024

The Crafoord Prize is awarded since 1982 by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation. It is awarded in the categories mathematics and astronomy, geosciences, biosciences and polyarthritis (Holger Crafoord suffered from this disease). The Crafoord Prize in Mathematics 2024 is awarded to Claire Voisin “for outstanding contributions to complex and algebraic … Continue reading "Crafoord Prize 2024"

2024 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics

The 2024 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics goes to Simon Brendle for transformative contributions to differential geometry, including sharp geometric inequalities, many results on Ricci flow and mean curvature flow and the Lawson conjecture on minimal tori in the 3-sphere. The 2024 New Horizons in Mathematics Prize goes to Roland Bauerschmidt for outstanding contributions to probability … Continue reading "2024 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics"

Shaw Prize 2023 in Mathematical Sciences

The Shaw Prize this year is awarded to Vladimir Drinfeld and Shing-Tung Yau for their contributions related to mathematical physics, to arithmetic geometry, to differential geometry and to Kähler geometry. More information can be found here: link.

Abel Prize 2023

The Able Prize 2023 is awarded to Luis A. Caffarelli for his seminal contributions to regularity theory for nonlinear partial differential equations including free-boundary problems and the Monge–Ampère equation.

Shaw Prize 2022

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences 2022 (link) is awarded to Noga Alon and to Ehud Hrushovski for their remarkable contributions to discrete mathematics and model theory with interaction notably with algebraic geometry, topology and computer sciences.